Week 1

Standard

Week 1

I have a little blurb to continue on from my last post:

This last year was full of stressors, anxiety triggers, and lots of random flare ups, however, I managed to get discharged from the Iowa Clinic.  I went here yearly for blood tests and a follow up consultation with my gastroenterologist.  And I do have a small confession about the medication he prescribed me.  I took it for maybe 1 ½ to 2 years and began to fade out and only take it when I had some intense flare ups.  I was tired of having to take two pills before every meal (it had to be taken a half an hour prior to your meal).  There was an instinctive push and pull feeling telling me to stop taking them.  I easily slid off the grid because I didn’t want to have to take medications for the rest of my life.  I was completely ecstatic when he told me I didn’t have to come back to the clinic since my symptoms improved. 

Now, during this same year I gained more responsibility at work and moved twice (I’m now living by myself, I love the quietness).  A lot of big changes have occurred and the timing is perfect.  The only downside to the past year was my drinking habit.  Sometimes I would come home from work and the first thing I would do was crack a beer open (as if it solved all my problems).  We all know that’s a crock of shit!

It wasn’t until about a couple weeks ago when I had a night out on the town and was slurping down drinks like a fish.  I’m actually very embarrassed about this but I have to face the negatives in order to turn them into positives.  I actually woke up the next morning still drunk from the many gin and sprites I consumed.  After a few more hours of sleep I woke up with the worst hangover of my life (even worse than my 21st birthday).  I was constantly sick all day.  I decided this was the LAST straw.  It’s time to get your shit together, Morgan, time to grow up and deal with these issues instead of masking them.  I have been pinning recipes on Pinterest and purchased two books to help with my process:  The Complete Idiots Guide to the Anti-Inflammation Diet and 8 Weeks to Optimum Health by Dr. Andrew Weil.

Monday was an extremely long day (due to my weekend activities).  I managed to still go to the grocery store after work.  (If any of you know me, I absolutely despise the grocery store.  I always feel so goddamn overwhelmed).  I came home and instantly preheated the oven for a few marinated chicken breasts.  Time to prep my lunches for the week!  I decided salads were nutritious and light enough for lunch.  I looked in the fridge and pulled out some mushrooms and carrots.  In the cupboard, I pulled out the sliced almonds and raisins.  Once the chicken was done cooking and cooled, I sliced about ½ a breast for each salad.  Boom!  Lunches were done!  I also cut up some green and red peppers and put them into snack baggies for the week.  (I had a bowl of Kashi’s Vanilla Soy Cluster cereal, not bad, but I do like to add some cinnamon and raisins to give it a little more “umpf”). 

Every morning I wake up and make a cup of green tea (8-10 oz. depending on how my eyes gauge from waking up).  I also make my oatmeal, an excellent filling and clean meal.  (Not to mention, ½ a cup is a HUGE serving size).  To jazz up the oatmeal I add: raisins, cinnamon, some nut (walnut, pecan, or almond), a fruit (usually strawberries, but I love blueberries too), and agave nectar. 

Tuesday I decided to invite Dad over for dinner.  We’ve both been chicken shits about trying salmon recipes.  The recipe was from Gwyneth Paltrow’s cookbook:

*Juice and zest from ½ a lime
*1 T. Maple syrup
* ½ tsp. Sriracha sauce
* ½ tsp. Coarse sea salt
*1 ¼ lbs. Salmon fillet, skin removed
*2 T. Coarsely chopped cilantro

I made a few substitutions because I could not find the sriracha sauce ANYWHERE in Hy-Vee.  So I ended up using sweet chili sauce in place of the sriracha and agave nectar for the maple syrup.  I also doubled the sauce recipe and marinated the fillets all day. (You bake the fillets on parchment paper for 18-20 minutes at 425 degrees).  I had been craving sweet potatoes so I roughly cut two potatoes (skins on), drizzled olive oil, and sprinkled turmeric, garlic powder, cayenne, and paprika.  Bake for 35-45 minutes at 400 degrees.   Everything was SO good!

Wednesday and Thursday night I split a soup I had frozen of Dad’s.  It was a barley, sausage, and bean soup, something absolutely perfect for the weather we’ve been having lately.   Then on Friday I finished the extra salad from my prepping.  I ruined a good streak with some Chex Mix, Muddie Buddies, and a few beers from a concert that night (I am human).  I will tell you I regret the choices of food I made at that time because I paid for it Saturday. 

Saturday I ventured out with Dad to Trader Joes.  I was so impressed with how much fresh, organic produce I got for a VERY decent price.  I also got a few necessary cooking items like olive oil, sea salt, and minced garlic for super cheap!  That afternoon I put together a tofu vegetable soup in the crock pot. 
I used:  *1 bag frozen mixed veggies
              * ¼ bag frozen corn
              * ¼ bag frozen peas
              * ¼ bag frozen green beans
              * ½ box extra firm tofu
              * 1 C. pearl barley
              * 2 Cartons of chicken stock

And I sprinkled in basil, rosemary, marjoram, parsley, garlic powder, turmeric, onion powder, pepper, and very little salt.  It turned out pretty good!  The tofu actually melts in your mouth.

Today, (Sunday), I woke up and fixed an organic egg and fried some sweet potatoes in olive oil and the typical anti inflammatory spices.  I also enjoyed a cup of hot green tea and a cup of lemon ginger juice.  I declared that Sunday is a day for leftovers!

I can tell you, besides my slip up on Friday night, I have never felt better!  I have lots of energy and I don’t feel bogged down after eating!  I’m really looking forward to week 2!  Stay tuned!   🙂

Leave a Reply

